POST #1: (becoming) a community of women

goal of this blog: I’d like to create a community of believing women who uplift each other and encourage one another in all areas of their lives. My hope is that this blog can create a network of women who can seek each others’ counsel, knowing that their honest questions and struggles will be met with love, compassion, and encouragement.  [Please see the “About” section for more on this.]

why i think this is an important goal: I think Christian women need encouragement from a strong system of other Christian women.  I think women’s natural tendencies towards gossip and insecurity often undermine our relationships with each other and with others around us (husbands, kids, unbelieving friends).  I think solid connections with other women who are trying to walk with God can combat this type of culture and instead refocus women’s talkative tendencies towards communicating effectively and lovingly, and refocus their insecurities towards a reliance on God and a recognition of others’ worth.

how i’d like to meet this goal: By posting entries on Mondays (maybe more once the blog gets established?) designed to promote discussion, interaction, and action in our lives.  Most of the posts will have a specific challenge associated with them.  I think a mistake many of us make is talking about changes we need to make — but never making them.  (I know I’m guilty of this!)  My hope is that you’ll share your successes and roadblocks in the comment section under each entry.  You never know how encouraging your situation might be to another woman!

why i believe it’s important for lots of people to contribute to a blog like this: Because we all have different experiences, we can all offer each other different things.  I can get a discussion going, perhaps, but I can’t offer what each unique woman who reads the post can offer.  This idea of everyone contributing their ideas is Biblical, as well.  In 1 Corinthians 14:26 we’re told: “When you come together, everyone has a hymn, or a word of instruction, a revelation, a tongue or an interpretation.  All these must be done for the strengthening of the church.”  How can your unique talents and experiences strengthen this community of believing women?

first challenge: What would you most like to get from a blog like this?  What do you think a community of women trying to live for God could offer you?  What might you be able to offer that community?  Please post your answers in the comment section of this post.  Which of your friends might enjoy a blog like this?  Send her the link!

Want to read more?

Start of the fully submitted series: (becoming) fully submitted

Start of the wife series: (becoming) a godly wife

Start of the stewardship series: (becoming) a good steward

Start of the role model series: (becoming) a role model, part one

Start of the wisdom series: (becoming) wise, part one

Start of the Proverbs 6 series: (becoming) closer to God through Proverbs 6

Start of the Christmas series: (becoming) peaceful

Are you a worrier?  Try this post: (becoming) less of a worrier

5 responses

  1. I think a blog like this could offer me opinions from women of a lot of different backgrounds. I’d like that.

    1. I agree, Ash. Sometimes my friends and I see things from the same perspective. Having other points of veiw would be great!

  2. This is a great idea and a great blog! I will send a link to my Christian female friends. What I would like is to be around other kindred spirits. I would love the community of other Christian women, especially married women. As you know, I have a blog about marriage and would love to hear what you think of it. Nice to “meet” you!

  3. Thanks so much, Karyl. I really appreciate your comments and encouragement. I’ve been enjoying reading your blog — it’s always wonderful to hear about happy marriages!

    I would love it if you sent the link to your friends! The more the merrier! Thanks, again.

    1. Oh, and nice to “meet” you, too!

Leave a Comment!

