(unsolicited) suggestion friday #2 – aka: get a free book!

One of the mixed blessings of living in 21st century America is that we have an enormous selection of books about Christianity and countless blogs about Christian living.  Some good, some great, some…….not so much.

If you’re anything like me, you get a little overwhelmed by all of the choices sometimes!

With so many options it’s hard to know where to start.  I thought maybe we could help each other with that.

For this Friday’s post, I thought we’d focus on favorite CONTEMPORARY Christian books.  This category is somewhat nebulous, but if it was published after 2000, we’re going to call it contemporary.  I realize that seems awfully recent, but with as many books as come out each year, having 11 years of contemporary books to talk about will still give us a huge selection.  🙂

So that is my (completely arbitrary) definition of contemporary for this post.

My pick for this category:

For Women Only by Shaunti Feldhahn:  I found this book incredibly insightful, as have other women I’ve talked to.  While only God can save/improve a marriage, I think He’s using this book as a powerful tool in the process for many people.

I’d also recommend For Men Only (also by Feldhahn).  My husband liked this book, and the two of them together gave us some interesting things to talk about.

One caveat: There are some things in these books that could be tricky, but valuable, to talk about.   Any discussion with our husbands about these books should be done prayerfully and with the utmost consideration for their feelings.

So, what’s your favorite contemporary Christian book?  (Feel free to tell us why, too!)

Get a Free Book!: Next Friday, I’ll randomly draw a name from those who leave comments on this post and send that person For Women OnlyI’ll announce the winner in next Friday’s blog – when we’ll be talking about favorite Christian classics!

Happy Friday, everyone!

7 responses

  1. Like you, I love For Women Only and For Men Only. I have shared these books with many people and in fact just told the women in my Thursday night Bible study about them last night! And you are right – they must be discussed in love and with consideration for each other. I remember the first time I read it I kept asking my husband, “Is that true?!” and he’d say something like, “Well, yeah.” I learned a lot from these books even though I am older and thought I knew a lot about men:)

    I also really like the Bad Girls of the Bible books by Liz Curtis Higgs. (I think there are 3 different ones now?) I love the contemporary examples that Higgs compares to the Biblical examples. I think Higgs does a great job showing that flawed women, which we all are, can be used by God in many ways.

    I have For Women Only in my personal library and in our church library so you don’t need to put my name in the drawing! Thank you!

    1. I haven’t read any of the _Bad Girl_ books. I’ll have to get those on my list. Thanks for the suggestion! Love ya!

      Oh, and I’d love to hear what the women in your Bible study think of them. I’m always curious to hear what women learn from them!

  2. “One Thousand Gifts: A Dare to Live Fully Right Where You Are” By: Ann Voskamp….Voskomp is a Christain mother of six, living on a farm, she has an educational and psychology background, and she loves to write… She basically writes about doing all these things and trying to do them well…very inspiring on a real life/ ordinary person level.
    “The Love Dare” By: Stephen Kendrick, Alex Kendrick
    Along with the movie “Fireproof” are great tools for any Christian couple.

    1. I just found Vokamp’s blog not too long ago. Very interesting stuff! I love how willing she is to pass on what she’s learned and what has worked for her.

  3. I really enjoyed For Women Only too! I think really that is one that sticks out to me because you recommended it to me:). I also don’t know that many b/c I don’t know where to look or start either! I have had The Love Dare recommended to me also. Oh! And I enjoyed the 5 Love Languages by Gary Chapman. It just made me realize that each of us does things differently intending to show love and that sometimes I was totally missing love shown to me!! Likewise, I thought I was showing love that my spouse may not even realize that’s what I was doing b/c he doesn’t show it the same way. I would recommend it, that’s for sure! It was very interesting if nothing else.

  4. I read a TON, but I never read Christian books. Except C.S.Lewis. Every few years I cycle through his books, and it’s about time to re-re-re-read Mere Christianity. That said, I DID buy and read and love and then give as a gift many times over *Looking for God: An Unexpected Journey through Tattoos, Tofu, & Pronouns* by Nancy Ortberg. The author really calls Christians out on some of their/our more questionable habits. It made me laugh and it stopped me in my tracks more than once.

  5. I hadn’t heard of Nancy Ortberg’s book, Jenn! Thanks for suggesting it.

    I’m with you on C.S. Lewis. Love him! Actually, my post tomorrow is going to be about him!

Leave a Comment!

