(unsolicited) suggestion friday: verses that make me think

Micah 6:8: He has showed you, O man, what is good.  And what does the Lord require of you?  To act justly and to love mercy and to walk humbly with your God. 

[This is one of those great “sum it up” verses.  Here’s what the Lord requires of you (because it’s good – for Him, for others, for you): balance justice and mercy and walk (humbly) with Him.  Walking with someone, of course, gives us the image of always being with someone.  Staying in step with someone.  Sometimes I wonder what God wants.  Here he tells me.]

James 1:26: If anyone considers himself religious and yet does not keep a tight rein on his tongue, he deceives himself and his religion is worthless.

[While it may manifest itself in different ways (harshness, gossip, anger, meanness, lies, blame, among others), most of us have difficulty corralling our tongues at times.  Because of that, I think this is a hard verse to think about.  But, I find when I do try to keep it in the forefront of my mind, I tend to do a better job giving God my tongue reins.]

John 15:4: Remain in me, and I will remain in you.  No branch can bear fruit by itself; it must remain in the vine.  Neither can you bear fruit unless you remain in me.

[I want to bear fruit.  This tells me how I can.  It also tells me how I can make sure I DON’T bear fruit.]

The development sequence of a nectarine (Prunu...

Image via Wikipedia

Psalm 127:1a: Unless the Lord builds the house, its builders labor in vain.

[I do not want to labor in vain.  I want God to be the builder of our home and family.  I think this is difficult, though, when I have ideas about how things should go.  This verse helps me remember that my ideas are never going to be better than God’s.]

So, what verses really make you think?  Why?

One response

  1. Hi, Dove124. I removed your comment on this post because I’m concerned that its potentially divisive nature (even if that wasn’t your intent) might detract from the purpose of this blog. (For more information on this purpose, please see the “About” tab at the top of the page.) That said, I’m more than happy to continue this conversation one-on-one — and I can always be reached at awomanforhim@gmail.com.

Leave a Comment!

