(unsolicited) suggestion friday: make a cake (and eat it, too!)

So, today I didn’t know what to write about.  As I was lamenting this fact to my husband (Dan), he said: “It’s unsolicited suggested Friday, right?  Why don’t you suggest that people take a break from things now and then?”  Brilliant!

So, that’s my suggestion: Remember to pause — and enjoy what’s happening at that moment.  In the spirit of this advice, I decided to not worry about the blog.  Instead, I made a cake for company we were expecting.

Tonight we had a lovely dinner with one of Dan’s cousins, her husband, and their little boy, and then we all came back to our house for cake and ice cream.  When we got here, I was dishing out the cake and Dan’s cousin’s husband said to me: “Why do you have cake?”  “Because you were coming over,” I replied.  “You just made it for us?” he asked.  “Yup,” I said.

While the cake wasn’t anything amazing, I was glad that it demonstrated that I thought their visit was special, worth making a cake over.  Had I said, “Sorry I don’t have dessert, but would you like to read this blog post I wrote?” I’m not sure they would have felt as welcome in our home.

The point of this is not that cake is important or that taking time to blog is bad (obviously I don’t think that, since that’s what I’m doing right now).  The point is that sometimes taking a break from what you normally do can be a good thing.  Getting so caught up in schedules and routines (especially those we impose upon ourselves) can cause us to miss opportunities to connect with others.

In case you’re interested, I’ve included the recipe for the cake below.  Let me repeat: There isn’t anything special about this cake.  The main reason I like it so much is that I didn’t realize I could make cake from scratch (I knew it was possible, of course, I just didn’t think I had the time or the patience), until I saw my mom make this.  It was so fast and yummy.  And it makes a 9×9 cake, which means it doesn’t take as long to bake!  So, thanks Mom!

 

Do you have a fast and tasty recipe?  Please feel free to share in the comment section!

 

Quick and Yummy Chocolate Cake

1½ c. flour

1 c. sugar

½ c. cocoa

1 c. water

½ t. salt

1 t. baking soda

½ c. oil

2 t. vanilla

2 T. vinegar

Combine all ingredients, adding vinegar last and mixing well.  Bake in square or round pan (8 or 9 inch) for 25 minutes at 350.  Sprinkle with powdered sugar. (Really good the next day, too!)

Quick and Yummy Chocolate CakeChocolate Cake

6 responses

  1. Yum! One of my favorites! You are welcome sweet daughter.

  2. That’s so sweet what your Mom wrote! My Mom calls me sweet daughter too! I am definitely printing this recipe. I love simple recipes. I am really glad that you stopped by my blog. That’s how I found yours. I am having fun reading your posts.

  3. Do you mind if I add your blog to my blogroll?

    1. I would love that! Thank you so much! Can I add yours as well?

  4. Wow! That is one wonderfully gooey cake! Thanks so much for linking up!

Leave a Comment!

