(becoming) excited for the season

Around July, I start asking my husband if I can listen to Christmas music.  He says no.  [This comes as no surprise, since the rule for our family is no Christmas festivities before Thanksgiving.]  I usually ask again in September.  Again, no.  I start humming songs in October.  I get “the look.”  In November, I hear a couple of notes of a theme song on TV that sound vaguely Christmas-y, and I belt out whatever song it almost sounded like.

November’s the worst for my Christmas music addiction.  I totally understand why he doesn’t want Christmas music around until after Thanksgiving.  Thanksgiving deserves our undivided attention.  And this desire for Christmas music it doesn’t affect any other area of the Thanksgiving celebration.  I don’t want to put our tree up until after Thanksgiving.  I don’t want to put up lights early.  I don’t actually want to skip Thanksgiving.  I just want to listen to Christmas music!  (And, by the way, kudos to Nordstrom’s for not putting up Christmas decorations until after Thanksgiving!)

So, the long-awaited day finally arrived!  The day after Thanksgiving!  Christmas music!  Decorations!

What tradition or activity of the Christmas season do you anxiously await each year?  Please share in the comment section below!

The tree!

The Manger

One of my favorites on the tree

Another favorite

The best of my sad attempts at the types of cool close-up shots my brother can take....

The topper

 

 

 

Previous Christmas Post: (becoming) prepared for the season

Up next (on Monday): (becoming) joyful

To read the fully submitted series, click here: (becoming) fully submitted

To read the wife series, click here:(becoming) a godly wife

To learn more about this blog, check out the About page or the first post.

4 responses

  1. So many traditions to choose from…

    Sending an “Advent box” to my dearest girl every year.

    “Advent by Candlelight” with my girlfriends. If you don’t know what that is or you want some info on how to have an Advent by Candlelight celebration at your church let me know!

    Gingerbread house building/decorating – usually about 12 people or more show up!

    Opening Christmas p.j.s on Christmas Eve.

    Christmas Eve service with the lovely decorations and music – there will be a special surprise musical gift this year for those attending with us. I can keep a secret, so don’t ask me.

    Baking and cooking and cleaning up while my beautiful daughter keeps me company in the kitchen… LOVE that! Gooey butter cake and sour cream coffee cake.

    Giving each of our kids an ornament every year.

    And of course – listening to Christmas music ALL the time. After Thanksgiving naturally.

    1. That’s a good list! 🙂

  2. There are so many! I too love the music. I also love the gift giving, the card sending, opening presents on Christmas morning, decorating, baking, Christmas dinner. I love Chrstmas Mass. I love Christmas. I guess I just love everything about it!

Leave a Comment!

